Pay Day

Ah yes, where does all the money go?

When I was a child, Pay Day was one of my four favorite board games.  It was exhilarating; it was invigorating; it was stimulating.   It was whoa whoa whoa whoa whatta feeling!

I would spend hours on the front porch with my friends taking turns  rolling the die, moving the token around and landing on random dates and taking a card from the pile.   The bills and other miscellaneous events were represented by two stacks of cards situated in the middle of the board and featured creditors with names like Dr. I.M. Blurd.

I’d whiz through month after month on the board living for the moment when pay day came.   Since I grew up playing the original version, it did not include a loan option like the current version.  At  the time, it never occurred to me to wonder about savings or loans.  I was happy just to play household CFO.

I would burn through my wages just as quickly as the month seemed to pass because I kept arriving on those damn days when a bill arrived, but would get it all back the following month without fail.  The biggest problem was receiving a large bill from a medical doctor every once in awhile, but other than this kind of arbitrary pecuniary drama, there were no other surprises.  Life was good.

At the time, I thought it was great fun.   I couldn’t wait to grow up and become a full-time debtor.   Little did I realize that my life as an adult would actually become the game of Pay Day with some additional twists and turns that the game never prepared me for.

There weren’t any cards representing  job lay offs, termination, double digit national and state unemployment, bankruptcy, divorce, catastrophic personal injury and/or  illness,  foreclosure, repossessed vehicles, or loss of all life savings due to a mismanaged economy by an out of control federal government.   Had these sort of realities been included in the game, Parker Brothers would have been doing everyone in my generation a tremendous favor.

©2010 Peyton Farquhar™ and Prattle On, Boyo™. Unauthorized use and/or duplication of this material without express and written permission from this blog’s author and/or owner is strictly prohibited. Excerpts and links may be used, provided that full and clear credit is given to Peyton Farquhar™ and Prattle On, Boyo™ with appropriate and specific direction to the original content.

One Response to Pay Day

  1. Leto says:

    I used to play PAY DAY all the time, however I played the computer version. I would sit there and play for hours at a time. It was great.

Please note comment(s) that do not comport with policy will be held in the queue.

